## THE EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF EXETER CITY COUNCIL

Guildhall Tuesday 28 July 2015

The Right Worshipful the Lord Mayor (Cllr Foggin)
The Deputy Lord Mayor (Cllr Robson)
Councillors Bialyk, Branston, Brimble, Bull, Buswell, Denham, Edwards, George, Hannaford, Hannan, Harvey, Henson, Holland, Leadbetter, Lyons, Morris, Morse, Owen, Packham, Pearson, Prowse, Raybould, Sheldon, Shiel, Spackman, Sutton, Vizard, Wardle and Williams

8 APOLOGIES

9

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Baldwin, Brock, Choules, Crew, Laws, and Newby.

## FREEDOM OF THE CITY - MICHAEL CAINES

The Leader moved the recommendation that Mr Michael Caines be awarded the honour of Freedom of the City in recognition of his achievements in the field of cookery which has led to Exeter's name being known around the world as one which supports the culinary arts.

Councillor Leadbetter seconded the recommendation.

**RESOLVED** that, in pursuance of its powers under Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council do confer on Mr Michael Caines Freedom of the City Status in recognition of his outstanding services to cookery which has led to Exeter's name being known around the world as one which supports the culinary arts.

[Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 provides that the foregoing honour may be conferred by resolution of the Council passed by not less than two thirds of the Members voting thereon, at a meeting specially convened for the purpose.]

[The foregoing resolution was passed unanimously)

## 10 <u>HONORARY ALDERMAN - JOHN WINTERBOTTOM</u>

Councillor Leadbetter moved the recommendation that Mr John Winterbottom be conferred the title of Honorary Alderman, in recognition of his outstanding service to the Council over his 15 years of office on the Council, including his time as Lord Mayor in 2009.

The Leader seconded the recommendation.

**RESOLVED** that, in pursuance of its powers under Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council do confer on Mr John Winterbottom the title of Honorary Alderman, in recognition of his eminent services to Exeter City Council during the period he was a Member of the Council, including his time as Lord Mayor in 2009.

[Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 provides that the foregoing honour may be conferred by resolution of the Council passed by not less than two thirds of the Members voting thereon at a meeting specially convened for the purpose.]

[The foregoing resolution was passed unanimously)

(The meeting commenced at 7.05 pm and closed at 7.07 pm)

Chair